When an Approval Request is sent in Invoxy, it will remain pending until the request is actioned by an Approver or Administrator:
- Approving/declining the request
- Deleting the request
If the request has already been actioned and an Approver tries to approve or view the request from the approval request email, they'll see the expired request error.
If the request has been deleted, the details will no longer be available and a new request should be submitted (if it hasn't already).
If the request is approved or declined, the details can be found in Invoxy under Time > Approval Requests > Complete. The request may appear in the Pending tab if there are other approvals in the same request that are still pending.
Why are my requests expiring without action?
Invoxy never automatically approves or expires a request; the only way for them to expire is for them to be deleted, declined, or approved by a user.
If an approver finds that their requests are always or often showing as expired before they get a chance to approve them, check the Complete tab to see whether they're showing as approved and who by.
In some cases, the approver's email security may have a feature which automatically "clicks" on all the links in their emails to check that they aren't spam - this can have the effect of automatically clicking the 'Approve' button before the approver has even opened the email, making it appear that the approver already submitted their approval. Often this security is based in GMT or other timezones, so may also result in the approval timestamp displaying as before the original request (depending on the requester's local timezone).
If the approver isn't able to turn off that security setting, or whitelist Invoxy as exempt from those checks, the easiest solution is to remove the 'Approve' button from your approval request Message Template, so that only the 'View Request' button remains for them to click through and approve.
You can make that change to your default approval request message, if you want to apply that to all clients. Alternatively, you can create a separate non-default template, and assign that just to the affected client(s).