When an Approval Request is sent in Invoxy, it will remain pending until the request is actioned by an Approver or Administrator:
- Approving/declining the request
- Deleting the request
If the request has already been actioned and an Approver tries to approve or view the request from the approval request email, they'll see the expired request error.
If the request has been deleted, the details will no longer be available and a new request should be submitted (if it hasn't already).
If the request is approved or declined, the details can be found in Invoxy under Time > Approval Requests > Complete. The request may appear in the Pending tab if there are other approvals in the same request that are still pending.
Multiple Requests & Automatic Expiry of Requests
It's possible for administrators to request approval or add their own approval from the Week Summary, which can result in multiple approval requests for the same time entries. It's best to instead re-request or add approvals from the Approval Requests tab.
If multiple requests have been submitted, it's possible for the time to become approved but an outstanding Pending request will remain under the Approval Requests tab. These can simply be deleted by an administrator if desired.
Pending requests greater than a month old, for which all time entries have been approved in another request, will be automatically deleted.
Why are my requests expiring without action?
If an approver finds that their requests are always or often showing as expired before they get a chance to approve them, check the Complete tab to see whether they're showing as approved and who by.
In some cases, the approver's email security may have a feature which automatically "clicks" on all the links in their emails to check that they aren't spam - this can have the effect of automatically clicking the 'Approve' button before the approver has even opened the email, making it appear that the approver already submitted their approval. Often this security is based in GMT or other timezones, so may also result in the approval timestamp displaying as before the original request (depending on the requester's local timezone).
If the approver isn't able to turn off that security setting, or whitelist Invoxy as exempt from those checks, the easiest solution is to remove the 'Approve' button from your approval request Message Template, so that only the 'View Request' button remains for them to click through and approve.
Removing the 'Approve' button for all clients
If you want to remove the 'Approve' button for all clients, you can make the above change to your default Request Approval message template. The default message type template is indicated by the checkbox alongside the template name under the Manage > Templates > Message Templates section.
Removing the 'Approve' button for select clients
Alternatively, if you only want to remove the 'Approve' button for select clients, you can create a separate non-default template and assign that template just to the affected client(s). You may like to use the 'Copy Template' option from the existing default message when doing so.
When creating this new template, ensure the 'Active' flag is unchecked so it doesn't become the new 'Default' template for that message type.
To make this new template the default for certain clients, navigate to the Manage > Clients section, select the client name and then choose your new template from the 'Approval Message Template' dropdown.